iPhone Photo Display

I love the camera on my iPhone, and I use it to take a lot of photos of everyday scenes and objects around the neighbourhood. If you’re like me and do the same thing, you probably have a lot of photos sitting in your “camera roll.” I decided I wanted to display some of them in a casual, fun way.

I found fun little frames that look like polaroids, decided on some photos, sized the images to 3.5″ (to fit the frames) and had them printed. For me, this display is all about little everyday moments. My current random selection includes (L-R, top-bottom) a Starbucks break on a winter day, a sunny stretch of highway heading out of town, our goldfish, twinkly lights in the birch trees around the corner, a mannequin in a second hand shop, those same birch trees in the daytime, a row of “Pop Shoppe” bottles on the market shelf (flashback! I don’t think I’d seen these since the 1970s!), a teapot and cup at a Vietnamese restaurant, trees whizzing by the passenger window, drinks at our last dinner with friends before they moved overseas, the courtyard behind my office and the restaurant patio across the street.

The perfection of each individual image is not as important as the overall effect.  Another time it might be a display of favourite or most recent pictures of family or friends, or maybe objects all in one colour, or a seasonal display…. I sense a spring cherry blossom theme coming soon!

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on February 21, 2011, in photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The iPhone camera is amazingly versatile, and permits some interesting effects. Love the goldfish in your collection.

  2. I’m carrying the Lumix everywhere I go for the same reasons 😉
    I’m uploading practically non-stop too. Sometimes for my blog, sometimes just for my own archives, to remember this daily life when I will be back in the hometown again or wherever else!
    I really really love your idea of this collection of ‘polaroids’. It looks very artsy too!!!
    Since we live in a temporary place I don’t want to accumulate too many things here (we only brought our suitcases and I don’t plan to bring back huge amounts either) I have photos of our loved ones (you are in there too 😉 in foldable plastic photobags on our wall. I love watching the photos when I walk past it!

Leave a Reply

