Getting my groove back

I finished a new painting today. This is my first real painting in two years (!!) and it feels great to be back at it. I have another one in the sketching stage and am working on ideas for a series that will be rather different in style, but hopefully just as fun to do!

I used a palette of cadmium red, pthalo blue, cadmium yellow and titanium white. I learned a few things along the way (such as the importance of making sure the drawing is really right before starting to paint!) and hopefully the next one will be better.

I took some photos of the progression… this was over about two weeks, although actual painting time was probably about five hours.Β  You might notice my favourite hardware store/house painting brush on the easel in the last picture… I use it a lot, other than for really small details.

Hope you like the slide show!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on September 19, 2010, in art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Has it really been two years since your last painting?(in oil, yes?)
    Well, you still have it in you!
    I particularly love how the stands of hair came along.
    I am taking a week off in mid-October to try to get my own artistic “groove” back, and seeing this art of yours has me even more inspired.

    • Hey Tina… acrylics, actually. I feel like I’m getting comfortable with them – still have a lot to learn – but I do love acrylics. Thanks… glad you like the hair, I’m always happy when I can “nail” the hair! πŸ˜‰ Ooh, a week off for art and creativity, how wonderful! Hope you have a great week full of inspiration πŸ™‚ I was inspired by a film about Van Gogh I saw on the weekend, and plan to watch some other artist-bio-films in the near future. I’ll look forward to hopefully seeing some of your creations next month, which I know will inspire me too!

  2. How lovely! Love seeing the process too! Well done!!

    I know that back in the groove feeling – after a car accident I developed a fear of the torch and didn’t solder for 14 years. Now I have a business that is growing daily! I think I appreciate my creativity more because it was taken away for awhile.

    It really is a wonderful feeling to get your groove back – I hope this is the first of many paintings you will share! πŸ™‚

    Have a fabulous week!

    • Thank you, Sharon! I remember reading about your accident in your Etsy profile… your return to creativity (and your thriving business) is inspiring! I had no good reason for my lapse from painting… it’s hard to know sometimes why the “groove” comes and goes, but I appreciate it when it’s here!

  3. You are so talented!!! I found myself staring at the painting for a while. I like how it “comes out” (goes in?) fromt he shadows. The expression, the details….really beautiful Kate. Congratulations.

  4. How do you get rid of the paint spilled on your clothing?

    • Good question! I don’t get the paint out of my clothing, actually… I wear old clothes and an apron so it doesn’t matter if they get paint splatters πŸ™‚

  5. She is beautiful! Reminds me of Sheryl Crowe… and with the red lights and dark background, she could be singing on stage πŸ™‚

    • Hey, thanks Audrey…. it’s cool you thought that, it’s a painting of my niece who happens to be a beautiful singer! I love it when somebody sees something I painted in a way I never thought of before πŸ™‚

  6. Hey girl!
    Already commented on this wonderful work of you on FB but I love to see the slideshow with your progress! I so love the hair! Especially the strand of hair falling down the arm and the one resting on the shoulder. Mannn you are sooo good πŸ™‚
    Hope you will have many more moments of inspiration to come!
    X

Leave a Reply

