Summertime and the blogging ain’t easy

Well helloooo….. I’m back. Maybe because it’s summer, or because our computer has been kinda slow, but I haven’t had much inclination to update here in quite a while. Time to do something about that, so here’s a random peek at some of the things I’ve been doing and what has been inspiring me lately:

Rainier cherries.

Have you tried them? The yellow ones? They’re delicious. Sometimes when I’m at the market, though, I get distracted by the colours and shapes of the fruits and vegetables, and I’m thinking more about how I would like to paint pictures of them than how I will prepare or eat them. I’ve been thinking about painting fruit lately, and taking photos….

….. seems like every time I come home from the market with fresh fruit, I get my camera out.

Raspberries.

I was inspired to make this simple dessert when we had a friend over for dinner. Raspberry jello, chocolate mousse, whipped cream and fresh raspberries. Need I say more?

Flowers in the sunshine.

I’ve been taking a lot of photos of flowers, and also thinking about painting them. These are some sunflowers from a friend… I loved the way their faces looked in the late afternoon sun.

Growing things.

These are some herb and tomato seeds I planted. I made quick markers using little wooden spoons I found, that cost only a few cents each. I’ve also been trying some different types of flowers and plants to see what will grow well, mainly on our north-facing kitchen windowsill, and in our west-facing sun room.

Malabrigo Lace.

This yarn is scrumptious. Even though I used natural light and did everything I could to get the most accurate colours, the photo still doesn’t do justice to its blue-green beauty.  Incredibly soft, and light as a feather…. I have been inspired to start knitting the lovely “Featherweight Cardigan.” Seems a little odd to knit in the summer time, but a few friends and I just started up a new little group and are meeting twice a month, so I’ve been inspired to get the needles and yarn out again now and then.

Baking with bananas!

I am on a quest for the perfect banana bread or muffin recipe!  I’ve tried out a few, and have put my own twist on some of them (with varying success). I did discover that butterscotch chips go well with banana and make the kitchen smell heavenly.  Also that using the oven in the evening during a heat wave is a bad idea, but substituting spiced rum for vanilla is a deliciously good idea. I have more experimenting to do…. I’ll keep you posted.

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on July 31, 2010, in food, home, photography. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. To blog when it is summer?! Quite a difficult task! Summer is the time to be outside, see things, eat things, do other things…so it is only natural that there is a break in the virtual world 🙂 Lovely sunflowers!! and yummy cherries! Cherries are not very usual in Guatemala, let alone the yellow ones. Are they sweet?
    Enjoy your summer Kate!!

  2. oneordinaryday

    Wow, that sunflower photo is gorgeous. Stopping by to say thanks for commenting on my blog!
    ~ Michelle

  3. Hmm, no… blogging ain’t easy when there are more interesting things to do outdoors 😉
    Over here it’s steaming though so I guess the aircon is quite tempting right now.
    So I’m using a few spare minutes to tour around the blogs of my friends!!
    Loved your photos, especially the one of the herbs and the wooden spoons. So creative!
    I was smiling when reading you’d rather paint than buy the fruits lol. I can imagine your thoughts though, I often feel tempted to take photos of food too, there’s something in the colours and structures and yumminess I guess 😉
    Water melons here are so much sweeter here than in Europe that I’m kind of addicted to the taste now 🙂

Leave a Reply

