Teapots, times six

Last weekend we were out having tea with friends, and I took this photo.
The squatty teapots and big mug caught my eye.

A nice picture, but let’s open Photoshop and have some fun with it.

First I desaturated the colour, added some grainy texture, and layered an image
(royalty-free) of ink dissolving in water, which gave it sort of a grungy look.

For the next one, I increased the colour saturation and created an adjustment layer
to darken the edges.  It’s my attempt at imitating Lomo photography.

Then I tried blurring the image a little, putting a slight glow on the white areas, and
adding a polaroid-type frame.

Went a little crazy with the next one… filters, adjustments, levels, curves….
I don’t quite remember every step, but it was fun.

Last one… I added just a slight texture, then layered on some swirls from a page
in my sketchbook. I think this one’s my favourite.

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on May 28, 2010, in photography. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I liked the last one the best as well!, yet all of them are beautiful!
    Teapots…there’s a ceramic collection of them at home; some my mom made, some others are gifts. I liked the Christmas ones the best 🙂 Should make an entry about them…
    Have a great Friday!!

Leave a Reply

