Palmiers

I’m back!  It’s been a while… I went away for a mini-vacation, visited family, went on some winery tours, and celebrated my birthday.  Before going away and after coming back, things were pretty busy… so all in all, not much time for being creative.

I did, however, have the opportunity to do a little creating in the kitchen.

While I was visiting my sister, she gave me one of the Barefoot Contessa cookbooks for my birthday. She had another of the books, in which I spotted a recipe for Palmiers, and immediately decided we would make them!

Also called Elephant Ears, Palmiers (French for “palm tree”) are sometimes plain, or sometimes have sugar or cinnamon added, but these ones are savoury.  I’m not sure how they got their name… I can’t really make out either palm trees or elephant ears in the shape, to me they look more like round-bottomed hearts. Whatever the name, they’re delicious. This recipe includes some of my very favourite flavours.

.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.

Palmiers

from Barefoot Contessa, Back to Basics, Ina Garten

1 package frozen puff pastry, defrosted
1/4 cup pesto, store-bought or homemade
1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
1/4 cup finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes in oil, drained
1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
kosher salt

Lightly flour a board, and unfold one sheet of puff pastry. Roll the pastry lightly with a rolling pin until it’s 9 1/2 x 11 1/2 inches. Spread the sheet of puff pastry with half the pesto.

Then sprinkle with half the goat cheese, half the sun-dried tomatoes, and half the pine nuts. (to toast pine nuts, just put them in a dry saute pan on the stove and stir or shake them frequently, watching closely so they don’t burn… they’ll toast quickly) Sprinkle with 1/4 tsp salt (that seems like a bit too much…. just season to taste).

Working from the short ends, fold each end halfway to the center. Then fold each side again toward the center until the folded edges almost touch.  Fold one side over the other and press lightly. Place on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper. Repeat for the second sheet of puff pastry using the remaining ingredients. Cover both rolls with plastic wrap and chill for at least 45 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut the prepared rolls of puff pastry into 1/4-inch-thick slices and place them face up, 2 inches apart, on pans lined with parchment paper (we didn’t have parchment paper so used non-stick baking spray, and it worked just fine).

Bake for 14 minutes, until golden brown. Serve warm.

.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.oOo.

If possible, I recommend serving them as we did… outside, in the sunshine, with a good bottle of wine, and loved ones around the table.

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on May 21, 2010, in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodness! Those looks sooo delicious! I love baking, especially now that we moved, so I am going to make these for my family 🙂 Thank you for this recipe!!! Happy SITS and Saturday 🙂

  2. Visiting from SITS – when you listed thei gredients I could no resist coming to visit for the recipe – looks wonderful 🙂

  3. While I think I’ll leave out the goat cheese, I am going to keep *your* recipe for future book club meetings and parties.

    I can’t help noticing your sister’s platter the palmiers are on, too–like the shape.

  4. Those look absolutely delicious. I love Ina’s cooking. Stopping by from SITS.

  5. that looks scrumptious. I am a huge Ina fan. The anti-rachel ray. Oh and I need that cookbook.

  6. These look fabulous! The ingredients are absolutely some of my favorites! Thanks for the recipe.

    Stopping by from SITS

    http://mommamaybemad.blogspot.com/2010/05/track-and-field.html

  7. I just *love* the photo!! It’s breathing France and the good life to me 😉
    And I miss it!
    But fortunately they have Boulanger Paul here so I can get their huge palmiers now and then.
    I admire you for baking them yourself though. I used to bake a lot but these days I never do.
    I would love to have a bite in your palmiers!
    Good to read you had such a good time on your getaway!

    PS. You’re the only one I can visit right now, apparently the higher powers here let me go onto wordpress 😉

  8. WOW! Those look AMAZING! Go you! I’m not sure I could handle making anything so delicate looking! Beautiful! Stopping in from SITS.

  9. YUM! Can’t wait to try those, I have never seen savory ones.
    Stopped by from SITS, Happy Monday!

  10. I will try this recipie. It sounds delecious!

  11. Hi there! Thank you so much for participating in Culinary Evolution on my blog! Your recipe looks FANTASTIC! I cannot wait to try it. I can’t wait to see more awesome recipes like this from you! 🙂

  12. You know..I was all set to make these for my book club last Fri., but could not find oil packed sun dried tomatoesd(only the dried kind).
    I ended up not going to book club, anyway, but still want to try making these some time this summer(with Parmesan cheese, i think))

    • ooh yes, parmesan would be fantastic too! I’ve been on a green olive tapenade kick lately, I’m curious to try a little of that in them next time 🙂

  13. Wow, these palmiers look delicious!!!:) We have them here too but only with some sugar on… And they are called ‘Salzitza’ /which means ‘little tear’/… But I bet I would love your variation as well!!!:)

Leave a Reply

