It’s a small world

I was in Chemainus on the weekend and took some photos, then started playing with the “miniature” feature on my camera, and tweaking in Photoshop… an imitation of “tilt shift” photography, in which a shallow depth of field can make a real life scene look like a miniature.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like the effect the pink house the most, but I don’t know how well I’ve captured the look of miniature scenes… can you see it?

There are some fantastic examples of tilt shift photos on line, some of them are truly magical. I need to take more photos that I can turn into miniatures!

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on April 4, 2010, in out and about, photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hmmm…I am still not sure I understand this “miniature” feature, but I can almost see the effect on the Willow Street Sops building photo. Sweet town, at any rate with different styles of architechture.

  2. WOW what a cool collection of shots. Love them all. Will have to look up that tilt shot 😀

    Stopping by from SITS

    • Maureen – thanks so much! I visited your blog, but can’t seem to leave a comment there. Some sort of WordPress incompatibility, maybe? Or, more likely, something to do with my lack of techno-savvy 😉

  3. I can see it! Especially in the pink house one, and the white door with balcony. Really cool!
    Another reason why I have to change my camera…it’s turning really old by now.
    Great pictures Kate!

  4. How interesting. I can see the “miniature effect” on 2 photos – the one with the side shot of the building w/ the painting of the man’s face as the “focal point” and the one right after that. So cool! Stopped by from SITS!

  5. Kate thanks so much for the visit to my blog…Yes its been a long time!!
    Hope you are well….

  6. Very cool! How did you do that? I am curious about the technique. There’s so much about photography I don’t know!

    stopping by from sits.

    • Hello from one Kate to another! There are more detailed, technical ways to achieve it but if you don’t have a “miniature picture” setting on your camera you can use photoshop to keep one smallish area in focus while blurring the rest…. since that wouldn’t really happen in a real life landscape or shot of buildings, but with tiny model buildings it would. Also, increasing the colour saturation helps, as models are often painted in brighter-than-real-life colours.

      Not sure how much that helps…. if you google “tilt shift photography” there are much better explanations 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Hm…wrote the wrong sentence under the worng Blog entry…sorry…wanted to make a comment to your miniture world pics! I really like this and thought you had made a photo of a model railway 😉 like my brother has—beautiful houses you have in your area!!

    • hey Martina…. no worries, I’m not thrilled with this blog template which puts the comments at the top of the post rather than the bottom, it’s sort of confusing. I think I should find a new template. Anyway…. thanks for the comments, I’m glad you can see the miniature effect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

