Tying one on

Have you noticed that aprons are everywhere?  The old fashioned apron is cool again, in sort of an ironic, retro way.  I must admit, I’ve been wanting one for a while.  I’m not sure why… maybe looking the part will make me a better cook!  I finally found the perfect one on Etsy made by Boojiboo, and it came yesterday.

Check it out, not only is it super-cute but it’s turquoise!  With little pictures of mid-century furniture!  It’s really well made, too.  Boojiboo is actually three people, a mother and two daughters, who make their own patterns and sew them by hand… beautifully.

You just know I’ll be cooking up old-fashioned pot roasts in this apron, martini in hand, a la Betty Draper. ‘Cause I do that.

….and in case you don’t realize how perfect the colour is, here’s a peek at what we’ve been doing for the past couple of evenings….

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on March 11, 2010, in fabulous finds, mid-century modern and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I don’t think I’ve yet encountered an Etsy shop with more sales!! They are doing something right! Nice product – if I hadn’t just bought an apron at the last craft sale I attended I would be sorely tempted to purchase!

    I’m hoping in the future I’ll be a grandma who is forever in an apron serving up the healthiest yummiest treats available!

    Enjoy your apron and decorating!!

  2. Oh dear–I left a comment for THIS entry at the previous one(that whole comments link at the “top” threw me.

    “I never wear an apron(and I should). I think I should get one, because as usual, I am inspired by you!”

  3. Oh dear–I left a comment for THIS entry at the previous one(that whole comments link at the “top” threw me.

    (and do you know…Wordpress reprimands you if you click the “submit comment” link too quickly? I got this message:” You are posting comments too quickly. Slow down.” oops…)

    • I know, Tina… I just switched to a new “theme” and the comments-at-the-top kind of threw me too, I’m used to them being at the bottom!

      Really?? WordPress reprimands for posting comments too quickly?! How cheeky!!

      I don’t usually wear an apron either, except my painting apron (that’s covered in paint) but I’ve been thinking I should, and when there are such cute ones available….. 🙂

  4. So cute! and retro indeed. I like it very much!! and goes exactly with your color pallet!!
    I don’t have one…’cause I don’t cook! 😀 Sad, very sad, I know. But I will learn!, and when I do, I want one just as pretty.
    Have a great day!

  5. Very nice indeed! what a perfect colour too 🙂

  6. Rachel starts sewing lessons this Saturday and I *hope* she’ll make me a cool apron like your’s one day…..

  7. I jsut got an apron from bojjiboo-and I LOVE it!

  8. SO cute, and ironic that it matches your paint! hehe. I’ve been wanting to get a cute apron too…I have to check out etsy after this. 🙂

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest

Leave a Reply

