Peachy

Hot off the needles…. a springtime scarf/ shawl/wrap.

I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, since I made up the pattern myself. I wanted something sort of simple and not too lacey, with a bit of interest but nothing that would compete with the lovely peachy colours of the yarn. (McClellan Fingering by Three Irish Girls in the Georgia Peach colourway)

The process was a lot of fun, even if I did undo and re-knit several times. I started with just stocking stitch, then decided to add bands of moss stitch, divided by rows of eyelets. At the end I finished with a band of garter stitch, but broke it up with vertical rows of single knit stitches, and finally finished with a scalloped edge. I had only the teeniest bit of yarn left when I cast off the last stitch… whew!

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on February 28, 2010, in crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The technical process explaining sounds Martian to my ears :-)), but the end result is lovely. Congratulations.

  2. Lovely! The yarn really compliments the scarf shape and pattern – are you considering writing it up for Ravelry?

  3. Thanks!
    Elaine – I’ve had a couple of requests for the pattern now, so I am going to write it up…. I’ve asked a friend to test-knit it, to make sure it’s all clear, and then I’ll put it on Ravelry!

  4. Katy help me out here, fingering…. i have some colinette jitterbug yarn, merino sock yarn, i think it knits as 4 ply, would that work for peachy? xx

Leave a Reply

