The last and the first

Happy new year!

My last project of 2009…. tiny sweater Christmas ornaments. I had hoped to make more so I could mail some to far away friends, but didn’t get them done in time (maybe next year!)  In the end I did make about enough that I was able to give some to local friends and family, as well as keep a few for our own Christmas tree.

Each sweater took two hours or less to make, depending on the yarn ( I used this pattern from Heartstrings Fiberarts).  After the first one or two I had the pattern memorized, and it was fun to experiment with different yarns.

I really like the rustic look of Noro Silk Garden, but it was slightly tricky to work with on such a small scale, the ones made from sock yarn went up much faster. I made hangers by bending wire with round-tipped pliers.

My first project of 2010 is something for me…. a friend gave me the most lovely pattern by Connie Chang Chinchio – the Cayuga mitten and hat set.  I had already admired them on Ravelry, so she was very clever to buy this pattern for me (I don’t think I mentioned it…)  I’m using one of my favourite yarns, Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk Aran, in a scrumptious, slightly turquoise, French blue sort of colour (which is difficult to photograph accurately).

Here’s the band with its vine and berries, blocking in preparation for picking up stitches to carry on with the rest of the hat…. I’m excited to see how this will turn out!

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on January 2, 2010, in crafts, holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Owww all those cuties. You really are so creative! I love those little sweaters!!
    Good luck on the mitten and hat set, it already looks great!!
    Looking forward to see a pic of you wearing it :-))

  2. Lovely, lovely, lovely! My tree also has little sweaters, pants, santa jackets, and vests! Of course, I did not make them, but bought them some years ago, and they do make your tree look unique and different. I recently bought a garland of little Ms. Claus clothing: skirt, hat, scarf, vest, sweater and mittens. I plan to do something original with them for my niece next Christmas.
    That 2010 project looks awesome! Do keep us updated on it.
    Happy New Year!

  3. These miniature sweaters are so cute!!!:) I’ve never seen something like that before!!!:) Such an unique Christmas tree decoration!!!:)

  4. Heyy…………………

    What a beautiful…………….. small sweter.
    I request you pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee teach me how to make that beautiful l sweter .

    May GOD bless you.

    Miss Shaila

Leave a Reply

