Latest Crock Pot Creation

Green Yarn 2009-10

My only creative pursuit on the weekend was dying this skein of yarn.  I was going to clear a space on my desk this morning to take a photo, but I kind of liked the impromptu collage created by the clutter around it, so left it as it was.

This yarn (Knit Picks Peruvian Highland Wool) was dyed with Kool-aid in the crock pot again, but this time I mixed several flavours, and dyed it twice.  For the first dye I used three packets of Lemon-Lime, one Ice-Blue Raspberry Lemonade and a touch of Strawberry. Then I added some green food colouring and a scoop of Iced Tea.  I have no idea if the Iced Tea actually did anything, but it seemed like a good idea at the time. 

P1060821

After rinsing, I did a second dyeing with one packet of Lemon-Lime, two Ice Blue Raspberry Lemonade, a bit of Orange and Strawberry, and more green food colouring.  I was wondering what that mixture would taste like, but I didn’t try it!  (The second dye was also very blue and milky looking, and reminded me of Bridget Jones and her “string soup!”)  In a small bowl, I mixed up more of the same colours in a tiny bit of water for a highly concentrated mixture of brownish-green, and I dribbled it over the yarn here and there, to create a semi-solid variegated blend.

The variations in colour are very subtle (not even really visible in the photo) but it ended up a lovely mossy-grassy colour. I’m happy with it, even if it is a bit spring-like for an October yarn!  I think this yarn is destined to become a pair of mittens.

That’s all I have to show for the weekend, but I have to say…. there’s something extremely satisfying about taking a blank, snow-white skein of yarn, throwing it in a pot with a few packets of drink mix, and creating a beautiful, one-of-a-kind new colour!

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on October 27, 2009, in crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know the food colouring does not smell, but how about the Kool Aid and the other elements? Do they leave a smell on your wool? and if so, how do you rinse it off? Just wondering…I love the color result! Very Spring-ish in my mind 🙂

  2. Thanks, Claus! As for the scent…. yes, the kool-aid does leave the wool smelling a bit fruity, but not overly so. In fact, I kind of like it! You can use soap (meant for handwashing wool) in the final rinse, but I haven’t done that. I might try lavender oil, though, because in addition to its lovely scent, it’s a natural moth repellent.

Leave a Reply

