Still breathing…

I have to tell you how fantastic the Breathe Now conference was on the weekend! It was refreshing, inspiring, fun, educational… I’m still basking in the glow of it and feeling the lingering effects. 

I was a little unsure about going to the conference by myself… I felt a bit nervous about spending two days with a large crowd of people I didn’t know. It’s quite something, then, that the highlight for me is the connections I made. I talked to so many interesting and talented people, including some very creative women who will hopefully be featured soon on Pennello Lane! I scribbled many notes during the weekend; there was a lot to learn from each and every presenter. Meeting the amazing and inspiring Bif Naked was a definite standout moment, and her keynote speech provided many of the nuggets of gold jotted down in my notebook.

One small example of the lasting success of Breathe Now was my thoughts on first waking this morning. Rather than moaning about it being Monday morning I caught myself, and remembered Bif Naked saying “Mondays are new beginnings.” Followed by my new friend Rita Chand (of the “10,000 Hugs in 100 Different Cities” project) saying “Mondays represent blank canvases for me!”  That’s it… I am changing the way I look at Mondays!

The four co-founders did a fantastic job of conceptualizing and creating, this event, which raised money for the Bridges for Women Society. I am already imagining how great it will be next year.  If you can make it to Breathe Now 2013 I encourage you to mark it on your calendar.  And I’ll see you there!

About Kate

An artist and creative living advocate, I blog about Creative Canadian Women at PennelloLane.com

Posted on April 16, 2012, in other stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow. Sounds like a totally awesome weekend! I’m so glad for you (can stop holding my breath now!) that it worked out so great..

    • Haha… thanks! It was fantastic, I’m really glad I went. And check it out, everyone, my mum used the term “totally awesome!” That just made my day ;-)

  2. Awesome Kate! I wish I could have attended! I so agree with Monday being an opportunity to allow new in your life!! People have thought I was nuts for years because I LOVE Mondays!!

    Happy Monday!!! Monday can really be FUN!!

    All the Best
    Sharon

    • Sharon! Another Monday lover! I’ll see how I do next week… I might be a Monday-lover-in-training but we can change our thinking if we want to, so I’m going to work on it :)

  3. Nice blog! Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day!

  4. Thanks for the update on Breathe Now! I was so curious what it would be like. And now I so think it’s a pity that I live across the world. I would have loved to join you there!!
    I think even because you went there on your own you were able to meet up with so many interesting people!! I’m really happy it was such a great and happy event!
    And cheers to mondays :D

  5. Thankyou Kate for posting about the Breathe Now Conference you attended. Good for you for going on your own! I will work on my Monday ” gratitude” and giving more hugs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

